Blue Mantle Educational Supplies
Free Call 1-877-858-6833

Friendly Gables


Additional information

Grade Level


It is two years after the events in Canadian Summer. The Mitchells are settled in their new home, Friendly Gables—and twins have just been added to the family. With Mother recovering from the births and with other changes in the household, the children must come to terms with themselves in new ways. Joan’s first dance; Patsy loses her glasses; Peter’s disastrous fight; Angela’s misadventure in the woods; Timmy’s “good news”; and Catherine’s brush with fire —are only a few of the incidents in the life of this busy, growing family. With her usual humor and compassion, the author brings the Mitchell “trilogy” to a satisfying close.

Illustrated by the author. Ages 10 and up.

This is the third book in the Mitchells Series.

The first book in the series is The Mitchells: Five for Victory. The second book in the series is Canadian Summer.